Get Inspired

30 Jun

June has been a busy month for me.  My academic library job search is over!  Whooppeee!   It’s a huge relief for me.  Interviewing and job-searching can be stressful.  Stress can trigger an autoimmune disease flare.  How does a chronically-ill person handle stress and work demands? 

Joining a support group is a good solution for managing stress, work and chronic illness.  Check out the great resources at Inspire.

It’s an easy process to open an Inspire membership account.  It’s free and members can be anonymous.  I follow two of my favorite support groups via Inspire, the American Liver Foundation and ThyCa.  I joined three groups:  American Liver Foundation Support Community, Autoimmune Diseases Support Group, and ThyCa, Thyroid Cancer Survivors’ Association Support Community.  I introduced myself to three discussion groups and began participating in the discussions:  American Liver Foundation Support Community, Autoimmune Diseases Support Group, and ThyCa, Thyroid Cancer Survivors’ Support Community.  I posted in two discussions about Hashimoto’s and Thyroid Cancer and Autoimmune Hepatitis Support Needed.

When you activate your Inspire membership, you can choose your level of participation and anonymity.  If you are feeling overwhelmed by your chronic diseases and you need someone who understands your personal situation, reach out to the Inspire community.  Get Inspired

Namaste,

Mags

Inspire health and wellness support groups

4 Responses to “Get Inspired”

  1. jamandy November 26, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

    My son was recently diagnosed with AIH and I would LOVE to get some information from you. :) I have been searching for support and understanding, with a non-medical twist and I am so excited to come across the information you have here!

    • mags58h November 26, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

      Good morning, jamandy,

      I am sorry that your son was recently diagnosed with AIH, and I understand your need for information. I have not posted new material to this blog in several months, since beginning a new job. However, I will begin to blog and share AIH and autoimmune disease updates on this site, soon. I would strongly encourage you to open a confidential account on two AIH support sites to receive the kind of personal, medical information that you are seeking, as well as updates on AIH and autoimmune research news. I am a member of these patient/care support sites, too. Patients Like Me and Inspire are the two sites, and if you follow my blog links for these sites or search for them by name using your favorite internet browser, you will find them and the instructions to open an account. I’ve found that people in these communities are very warm, welcoming and supportive, particularly receptive to new members who have recently been diagnosed with AIH. I understand how scary that new diagnosis can be. But, you and your son are not alone. Many of us live productive, happy lives before and after our AIH diagnosis. I will be glad to listen to you and try to find you all the information that you need to live with AIH and support your son. AIH is a rare liver disease, but there are AIH support groups all over the world.

      Namaste,
      Mags

      • jamandy November 27, 2013 at 12:40 am #

        Thank you! :) I have spent a large chunk of my day reading here and going to your links. It has been a wonderful wealth of information.

      • mags58h November 27, 2013 at 1:30 am #

        I created this blog to give peace of mind to AIH care providers, AIH patients, and people supporting others with AIH. I was scared out of my mind when I was first diagnosed in 2009. I’ve learned to live with AIH, and it does get easier to live with, in time. It’s frightening to receive a health diagnosis for a rare disease with no known cure and frightening health concerns, including potential liver transplants. Joining those support sites, blogging, and researching AIH and autoimmune disorders has helped me to overcome my initial fears. Just remember, AIH affects us all, differently. What happens to one AIH patient may not happen to another AIH patient. When you read about AIH medications, individual symptoms, or join a discussion, take it all with a grain of salt, don’t take it to heart. My AIH journey is similar in some ways and different in many ways from other AIH patients. I was diagnosed right before my 51st birthday. I’ll be 55, soon. I’m still here, and I hope we all grow old, together. AIH research is happening all over the world, and I hope medical science offers us more treatment options for a healthier, longer life, as time goes by. Thank you for sharing your son’s story with me. I’ve only known 2 males diagnosed with AIH. AIH is even rarer for males than females. I wonder if a family member may have had AIH, perhaps undiagnosed and never identified. You might try researching your family medical history on both sides. It would be good information for you to share this information with your son’s AIH medical team. We are few in numbers, but we are a supportive group of people, particularly on the Inspire and Patients Like Me sites. Also, the American Liver Foundation is one of my favorite AIH websites with a positive outlook on living with liver disease. I’m always here if you need to chat.
        Mags

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers

